Architecture in Fort Worth

Plaza Hotel

301 Main - 1908; restored - 1981

Formerly:
Inman Hotel
Scott Hotel
St. Francis Hotel

 

This three story hotel was built by Winfield Scott, a prominent Fort Worth rancher and businessman. It is also one of the more unique buildings in Sundance Square featuring white glazed brick with green and yellow terra cotta trim. The hotel was restored in 1981 with other buildings as a part of the original two block development of Sundance Square.  The building is now used for retail on the ground floor with two restaurants, and offices above.  The Mercury Chop House is located at the corner of 2nd and Main.  They feature steak, poultry, and seafood specialties. Yolk, is a new restaurant to Fort Worth, that offers breakfast to downtown workers.  A one story kitchen addition was built behind the building in 1981 that is contextual with the surrounding buildings.  The architect for the 1981 restoration and addition was Thomas E. Woodward & Associates.  Thos. S. Byrne was the contractor.