City of Fort Worth Demolition Delay
This building was designed by the local architectural firm of Sanguinet, Staats, which was a transitional architecture firm between Sanguinet & Staats and Wyatt C. Hedrick's office. Hedrick. Bellows-Clay Construction Co. was the General Contractor. The building is unique in that it has a rectangular 2 story base (now remodeled) with a 4 story transitional section above, then becomes U-shaped above the 6th floor. The overall height of the building is 12 stories. Fakes & Co. were the original tenants of the 6 story base of the building up until 1946, when R.E. Cox & Co. occupied the space until 1955. The Fort Worth & Denver Railway occupied the middle part of the U-shaped tower. The Fort Worth Club occupies the upper floors and they operate a small hotel for their members in the southern wing. The base of the building was remodeled in 1953-54 by Fort Worth Architect, Joseph R. Pelich. In 1975, a 14 story addition was constructed on the half-block site to the west where the Worth Hotel and Worth Theater once stood. BBVA occupies a corner lease space on the ground floor.
Spanish Renaissance Revival
Sanguinet, Staats, & Hedrick
Bellows-Clay Construction Co.