Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

posting photos


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 johnfwd

johnfwd

    Skyscraper Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,846 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:southwest
  • Interests:Running, bicycling, bowling, nightclub life, science, technology.

Posted 24 March 2014 - 10:29 AM

I know this sounds naïve to you veteran photography posters, but I've tried to download a photo I took along the trails.  Looked on the help site about the default editor, the image icon, etc.  Cannot find the editing functions on the post itself to help me.

 

I need a tutorial so I can join you guys at posting photos!



#2 John T Roberts

John T Roberts

    Administrator

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,668 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Fort Worth
  • Interests:Architecture, Photography, Bicycling, Historic Preservation

Posted 24 March 2014 - 10:38 AM

The photos have to be housed on a separate web site, or photo hosting site.  Then with special code, you link to that location and the picture shows up.



#3 johnfwd

johnfwd

    Skyscraper Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,846 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:southwest
  • Interests:Running, bicycling, bowling, nightclub life, science, technology.

Posted 26 March 2014 - 12:50 PM

Since a lot of you post photos fairly easily, I guess I'm in the minority who still don't know how to do it.  I registered two photo files with Use.com, a free photo host.  I copied my URL address regarding one of the files.  Returned to the forum and clicked on special BBcode in one of the threads, but didn't know which code to use (member? blog link?).  Then I clicked on the image icon and put in the URL address.  The "photo" file appeared on the post as just a tiny box with no photo.  I clicked on the tiny box and got a error message reading "the extension is not used in this community" or something like that.

 

I really would like to post the two photos I took of the Forest Park Medical Center construction project while biking along the trails.  I need help, please.



#4 dangr.dave

dangr.dave

    Elite Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 655 posts
  • Location:Fort Worth

Posted 26 March 2014 - 01:08 PM

I wish I could help, but I just know how to paste from Flickr.  I really just select the BBcode, or whatever, that it gives me.  If there are several different codes that it gives you - Flickr give you a link, an HTML code, an "embed code" and another code - paste 'em all in a message and see which one works (you can always delete your post after your experiment).  That's what I had to do today after Flickr changed over to some new version.  If you open a Flickr account (free), I could help you post your photos.



#5 johnfwd

johnfwd

    Skyscraper Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,846 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:southwest
  • Interests:Running, bicycling, bowling, nightclub life, science, technology.

Posted 26 March 2014 - 03:40 PM

Thanks, dangr.dave.  As soon as I can I will go to Flickr and see how they do it.



#6 johnfwd

johnfwd

    Skyscraper Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,846 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:southwest
  • Interests:Running, bicycling, bowling, nightclub life, science, technology.

Posted 14 May 2014 - 10:21 AM

I must have done something to my Windows 8 program (disable something?) so that my login here is not "remembered."  This means I have to sign on each time, even when I leave the website for only a while.  Anyone enlighten me as to what I might have done?



#7 PeopleAreStrange

PeopleAreStrange

    Skyscraper Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,148 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Suburbia

Posted 14 May 2014 - 03:05 PM

When posting pictures from a photo host, the URL will not work. You have to look for a special forum code. Look for something that says "share," then look for something that says "forums."

 

As far as your login not being remembered, have you checked internet settings and made sure that you don't have a box checked "automatically clear history?"


- Dylan


#8 johnfwd

johnfwd

    Skyscraper Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,846 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:southwest
  • Interests:Running, bicycling, bowling, nightclub life, science, technology.

Posted 15 May 2014 - 12:44 PM

As far as your login not being remembered, have you checked internet settings and made sure that you don't have a box checked "automatically clear history?"

I checked and corrected this.  Thank you.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users