#1 Debbie Liles

Debbie Liles

Newcomer

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 11 June 2011 - 05:43 PM

Hello everyone,
my name is Debbie Liles and I am new to this Fort Worth list. I am a PhD student at the University of North Texas. I also posted this message on the Architecture Forum, apologies if you are reading this for a second time.

I am currently in the process of producing a book about Will Rogers Coliseum and Memorial Center with Arcadia Publishing. The main focus of all Arcadia books is vintage photographs. I am looking of any and all that anyone is willing to share. This can include anything including early construction, fat stock show, entertainment of any kind, art, anything. The more I have to chose from the better the end product will be.

My purpose is to preserve some of the history of this amazing center. A couple of years ago I wrote my master's thesis about Wyatt C. Hedrick, one of the architects of the building, it was then that I discovered that there was no book available. How could that be? If we don't preserve it, we will lose it, I just don't want to see that happen.

Hopefully waiting for any answers. Thank you for your time,

Debbie.

deborahliles@my.unt.edu

#2 John T Roberts

John T Roberts

Administrator

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,752 posts
  • Interests:Architecture, Photography, Bicycling, Historic Preservation

Posted 11 June 2011 - 08:34 PM

Debbie, welcome to the Forum. I'm very familiar with Arcadia Books and I congratulate you in your efforts. I'm sure you have contacted the UTA Library Special Collections for the photos in the Jack White Collection, which are hosted on this site. I'm sure you are also familiar in the fact that the Will Rogers Memorial Center is not designated as a local Historic and Cultural Landmark. I agree with you in that if we don't preserve it, we will lose it.