• Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 Bonfire98A

Bonfire98A

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 56 posts

Posted 25 September 2013 - 11:22 PM

Here's a downtown building renovation that appears to have slipped under the radar.  This is at the corner of 9th and Commerce, across from the Convention Center.  As far as I know, it has been vacant for as long as I've been working down here (since 2004).  

Of course, I assume this is a renovation as opposed to a demolition, since there's scaffolding on the side of the building and the company involved is a "construction" group.  I know this is far from being the prettiest or most historic building downtown, but I hope the renovation won't turn the building to brick-and-stone and will instead preserve the original International Style facade.  

(Then again, for all I know this building could have been brick-and-stone to begin with, and then subsequently modernized).

9944473996_4341aaf424_b.jpg

#2 prideftw

prideftw

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 192 posts
  • Interests:men, reading, music, and development

Posted 26 September 2013 - 12:27 PM

I have never noticed this building

#3 johnfwd

johnfwd

Skyscraper Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,293 posts
  • Interests:Running, bicycling, bowling, nightclub life, science, technology.

Posted 26 September 2013 - 12:35 PM

I've probably seen the building while walking around downtown.  What's good about this is that it is one of several downtown buildings where rehabilitation is going on.  As well as new construction such as the Sundance plaza area.  Which means that Fort Worth remains economically healthy.

#4 Austin55

Austin55

Skyscraper Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,690 posts

Posted 26 September 2013 - 12:41 PM

It's a nice little building. With maybe an awning it would look better I think. Otherwise I agree, I hope they don't radically alter the way it looks.