92 replies to this topic

#1 Austin55

Austin55

Skyscraper Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,647 posts

Posted 12 November 2012 - 11:34 PM

I do this a lot, like Jeriat. I dream a bit smaller most of the time.

I'll post stuff as I come up with it. Hope to start some discussion!

First thing I addressed is the empty lot next to The Kress building, along 5th street. I wanted something modern, residential, and as always, street front retail. I looked to the west coast to find something I liked to occupy the 50' by 200" foot lot. This building would probably look more at home in W7, but I wanted something different in downtown. To prevent an overtake of modern along the whole block, the corner of 5th and Houston I proposed a more historic brick facade building. I reality this would probably be required to be parking, but perhaps underground parking could be worked out somehow. I'm no engineer.
Please excuse how crude this is, I haven't used SU in almost 4 years. I tried to Photoshop it onto the lot with streetveiw but failed.

From Main
Posted Image

Houston
Posted Image

I hope ya'll enjoy!

#2 Austin55

Austin55

Skyscraper Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,647 posts

Posted 14 November 2012 - 09:52 PM

As you guys probably know, I'm not completely pro-skyscraper for Fort Worth. I like them, but the do present some issues.
Looking for inspiration around other cities, I singled out Tulsa's Mid-Continent tower as something I could imagine in FTW. It's a 513 foot tower that was built over top of an older building in 1984. Obviously, it looks quite different from anything else built in the 80's, retaining a historic style. I really like this building, it isnt overwhelming, not very big on its lot, and just looks great.