• Please log in to reply
69 replies to this topic

#1 JOHNFINLEY

JOHNFINLEY

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts

Posted 12 October 2008 - 09:42 AM

What are some good "eateres" that have been around a long time?

#2 hankjr

hankjr

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 87 posts

Posted 12 October 2008 - 11:28 AM

Angelo's on White Settlement Rd. Cattleman's Steak House on N. Main at Stockyards. Vance Godbey's near Lake Worth. Star Cafe on East Exchange near Stockyards.

#3 TonyW

TonyW

Newcomer

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 12 October 2008 - 12:05 PM

QUOTE (JOHNFINLEY @ Oct 12 2008, 10:42 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Another classic Fort Worth favorite is Joe T Garcias Comida Mexicana behind Eparanza's Panaderia 1 block east of north main near the stockyards. The other reply had some of the other classic FW favorited. I think Joe T's dates backe to bourt 1938. I have been eating there since the 1950's.

#4 LocalYokel

LocalYokel

Newcomer

• Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts

Posted 12 October 2008 - 12:57 PM

The Paris Coffee shop at the intersection of Magnolia and Hemphill is still really good.

Massey's steak house on 8th avenue used to be famous for their chicken fried steaks, but I can't recommend it any more. We ate there last month and in addition to a general air of disrepair, the CFS was terrible - gravy was lumpy and the consistency of that white paste we used to use in kindergarten. Used to be one of my favorite places to eat but quality has been dropping over the last several years.

On Camp Bowie there is the Original Mexican food restaurant, it's been there since the 30's and still churning out great food.

Kincaids hamburgers, right off Camp Bowie. They make a pretty tasty burger and have been around a long time. They also opened a branch over on Hulen / Overton Ridge.

Mama's pizza, on Berry. Used to be one on Camp Bowie but last time we went there for lunch it had been closed.