The building, designed by Mauran, Russell, & Crowell of St. Louis, designers of other prominent Texas Hotels like the Rice, Galvez, & St. Anthony, is one of Fort Worth's great hotels from the boom years of the 1920's. It was built by Bellows and Maclay. With 23 stories, its unique stepped and spired top is a prominent part of the skyline, rising 268 feet. According to Judith Singer Cohen, author of Cowtown Moderne, it is the only true "New York" style skyscraper in Fort Worth with several setbacks. From 1952 until 1962, it was a part of the Hilton Hotel chain. Hilton remodeled the interior and base of the building at that time extensively and also constructed a 5 story annex to the south. There is very little left of the original interior; only a plaster ceiling on the second level and a stairway. The hotel was vacant from 1982 until 1999. The hotel has reopened as a Courtyard Hotel by Marriott. Although the rooms are completely new, the building still has a feel of an old 1920's hotel. All of the setbacks on the building have been utilized as roof top terraces. The hotel also features a small outdoor pool on top of the annex. Huitt-Zollars of Fort Worth is the architectural/engineering firm that was in charge of the restoration. Fort Worth now has a new 203 room hotel within an historic facade. The Corner Bakery Cafe occupies the entire retail frontage along Main Street.